My Anime Loot – Art Books: Shirobako, Monogatari and more!

IMG_0827.JPG
This time, a look at the art books I have, some of which I bought in Japan, at the above pictured Official Tokyo Anime Center in Akihabara, and others, which I bought elsewhere

Contents

  1. Miscellaneous goods
  2. Art books
  3. DVDs, Blu Rays and Music
  4. Figures and Gunpla
IMG_0843
And a Noragami vending machine just because…

If you want to see a larger version of an image that is in a set, click on it, and you can view each picture individually.

The Art of Nausicaa 

IMG_1926
Picked up at the Studio Ghibli official store on Tokyo Character Street for ~2500 Yen.

 

And here’s the store in question. While Princess Mononoke is my favourite Ghibli film, I chose the Nausicaa book, because it’s actually the one with the most impressive and unique art design.

While there’s lots of pretty pics of Nausicaa herself…

There was an equal amount of the grossly detailed and horrifying bug designs, one of the most memorable aspects of the film.

IMG_1936
Princess Kushana
IMG_1934
Character designs

And of course, the legendary animation cut, by Anno himself.

Check out the next page for the Monogatari Series Heroine Book Collection!

6 thoughts on “My Anime Loot – Art Books: Shirobako, Monogatari and more!

  1. Hey, thank you for showing us your loot!
    This is just a fun fact, but the childish drawings on Mayoi’s book are actually Nisioisin’s!
    The drawings in the style of Shinobu’s OP are also made by the same who does all of the art for the EDs: Hajime Ueda. He also made the manga adaptation of FLCL.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. oh welp, after making that reply I went to rewatch the magica quartet x nisioisin sketches and noticed a strange thing. Long story short, nisioisin did the storyboard, while the sketches were made by Hiroki Haritama.
        Don’t know who he is? Neither do I: http://www.animenewsnetwork.com/encyclopedia/people.php?id=108783
        This’ll teach me to make statements without being 100% sure.
        I’ll return in my cave and hide from the embarassment, byeeee

        Liked by 1 person

  2. !!! I’m a fan of Shirobako and Shirobako merchandise was a huge blindspot for me, never having bought any merch before. I just recently thought about it and honestly I don’t know how to express just how jealous I feel right now :p

    TL;DR the shirobako book and all your loot looks amazing, thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

