12 Days of Anime – Starting a blog / Zael in Japan

INDEX

The Japan travel stories will be on page 2.

As the Winter 2015 season came to a close, a thought struck my mind that had already been forming for a long time prior. I want to talk about these shows, I want to have an outlet to express my opinions, I want to have a platform to approach in-depth analysis from, and I suck at all those things, so I need to begin by improving my writing… by, well, writing.

[Commie] Monogatari Series Second Season - 23 [18F0E56B].mkv_snapshot_10.48_[2014.03.10_19.31.46].png
When writing on a blank page, I have the tendency to feel like I am speaking to myself, it’s a more intimate conversation, that’s why inevitably, when writing, I’ll have a much greater tendency to pour more of myself into writing, than I would in a conversational context, even online.
While it’s true I’d had some small experience as a frequent reddit commenter, conjuring something up and having it stand on its own, as opposed to as part of an existing discussion is tough. It’s scary, it’s like throwing something valuable out there and hoping it looks okay, because its not one voice among many, it’s exposed and isolated. On a platform specific to you.

That was but one hurdle to overcome, the other was a more tangible one. I. Just. Couldn’t. Finish. Writing. Anything. — In the months before I had started this blog, there were a number of times I wanted to write a more extended piece about something, and I’d always make it right past the ideas and brainstorming phase, have a good potential layout to work through, but when it came to putting those sentences down, it felt like an insurmountable struggle.

[ANE] Ef - a Tale of Melodies - Ep10 [BDRip 1080p x264 FLAC].mkv_snapshot_03.15_[2014.10.01_03.15.02]
I realised that I had to begin somewhere, I had to accept that the current quality of my work was subpar, and throw it out there anyway. All while maintaining a guise of positivity and “promotion”- to even get people to read it in the first place. Every time I click that Publish button there was a profound quandary seizing up my mind. It’s only just recently that my number of published posts exceeded the abandoned drafts.
Nothing would sound how I wanted it to, some of my ideas would fall apart entirely when discussed at length, and it felt like nothing I was writing was all that special, or had the same personal, artistically informed touch that resounded in the writing of other bloggers I’ve met. I had to somewhat lower my standards in order to improve. I had to leave issues I didn’t know how to fix in there so I could start working on the next thing. I’m almost never happy or satisfied with what I put out there, I just struggle through it and hope for the best.

However, over time, I think I’m getting more confident in myself, if you’d like, check out my first posts, which are my thoughts on the Winter 2015 season shows. I’d like to think over these 9 months I’ve made a little progress, and have been able to insert more of my personal flair into my work. Though it did take a great deal of frustration before I got to my Kumiko-esque “I want to get better!” moment.

 

[HorribleSubs] Hibike! Euphonium - 05 [1080p].mkv_snapshot_08.23_[2015.05.05_20.21.45][HorribleSubs] Hibike! Euphonium - 05 [1080p].mkv_snapshot_08.26_[2015.05.05_20.21.50]

One thought on “12 Days of Anime – Starting a blog / Zael in Japan

  1. I know it sounds weird, but hearing about your struggles writing somehow makes me feel a lot better about having those troubles myself… I mean, I admire your posts, and how well they read and get the point across, and knowing that even the people who’s work I look up to are having similar problems makes me feel like maybe it’s everyone going through this, and maybe I’m actually making a teeny tiny bit of progress despite how I usually feel about my output.

    Also, those are some nice Japan pictures. I’d love to go to one of those shrines too, and also maybe visit the countryside and stuff. One day, hopefully…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

